January 2020 Moms
Options

Question Thread

Re: Question Thread

• Options
    peppyj9peppyj9 member
    edited May 2019
    @SeriouslySirius thank you! That makes me feel better and all the Google searches I've done point to my baby being just fine. I'll feel even better when I can talk to my Dr. at my first appointment tomorrow morning. Honestly though, other than the worry, I just feel angry with myself. I know it's unreasonable because I honestly didn't know, never heard that before, it's my first time being pregnant, but it just feels like "wow, you're only 5 weeks in and you're already failing your child" 😩😭  this is going to be a fun 9 months... but thank you again for easing my mind with a real life example! ❤ also, I'm sorry for your loss, but so glad your rainbow boy is doing so well!

Edit: spelling 
  • Options
    gabadoogabadoo member
    @peppyj9, did she use a shield? I think you should honestly be okay...especially if you needed the bitewings for your dental evaluation. In general, we try to avoid "unnecessary" radiation in pregnant women, but if a study needs to get done for medical/dental reasons, it should get done. And xrays are different from US...they are considered a radiating study as opposed to sound waves. But, think about it this way...you're exposed to radiation on a regular basis (ex: a cross country flight is a similar amount of radiation to a chest x-ray and we all have "background radiation exposure" in our day to day lives). So, if you'd be willing to get on a plane while pregnant, don't sweat the dental xray that you just had...especially this early on!
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    peppyj9peppyj9 member