October 2018 Moms

USA - How long will your maternity leave be?

I've previously done the max 12 weeks allowed by FMLA, but only about 8 of it paid.  My new job allows up to 17 weeks but only 10 weeks paid (including vacation).
Lilypie Pregnancy tickers   Lilypie Fifth Birthday tickers Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers

Re: USA - How long will your maternity leave be?

• I will be taking the max allowed, which is 12 weeks, mostly unpaid.  
  • kiwi2628kiwi2628 member
    edited February 2018
    I don't get any paid (although my H gets 2 weeks paid paternity!), but I plan on taking 12-16 weeks. I am a veterinarian at a multi-vet practice, so they will hold my job as long as I (reasonably) want, and I dont want to go back to a job where I am shaking peoples hands all the time during the height of flu season with a new baby, so I would rather go back Feb 1st than Jan 1st.

ETA: I forgot to mention I DO have STD so that helps
  • Loading the player...
  • I’m planning to take the max allowed, which is 12 weeks. I also have a short-term disability plan which will offset part of the income loss.  

I actually disclosed that I am pregnant to my HR person early this month; she helped make sure I was signed up for insurance in a way that maximizes my benefits while out. She also said that when I “officially” notify the firm, she’ll walk me through all the details.  (I asked her to keep the cat in the bag until April when I announce.)
  • I'll get 12 weeks, 60% paid after vacation/pto is taken. There might also be an option to go back part time for a few weeks to start, but I'm not sure how this would work with health insurance stuff. 
    BFP #1: due 6/17/2013, DD born 6/25/13
    BFP #2: due 6/30/2017, MMC found 12/7/2016
    BFP #3: due 10/21/2018