October 2018 Moms

Ask Me Anything:Third Tri/Labour Edition

As all of our “big day” gets nearer, I wanted to put up a new Ask Me post. Again, with the caveat that I am not a doctor, can not diagnose things, and will often refer you back to your doctor for their advice. But I can answer general questions of what to expect, typical norms, that kind of thing. So. Hit me! What do you want to know?
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Ask Me Anything:Third Tri/Labour Edition

• mamabearcjmamabearcj member
    edited August 2018
    Might be a silly question but I thought of it last night! Since the Twins have their own sacs and everything does that mean two waters will break?! And if so, do they break simultaneously or on their own, will I notice an additional breakage? So many questions lol
  • @mamabearcj having two separate sacs, they will break independently of each other. With mine last time, Baby A’s broke at 11:00pm prior to labour starting. They started an induction the next morning since I wasn’t progressing. A was born that second evening at 7:52pm, and then the doctor broke the waters for Baby B prior to her delivery. 
  • Loading the player...
  • That makes sense! Thank you! :smile:
  • My previous OB was insistent that I have a csection, but in the hospital these last few days every other doctor suggested that wasn’t necessary. How successful are VBAC’s when the first was a singleton? Or do deliveries typically end in a RCS anyway? 
  • @missmaehurt overall c-section rates for everyone statistically in North America is around 30-33% (so vaginal deliveries are 67-70%). VBACs are successful 75% of the time. So from a pure numbers game your odds are actually better for a VBAC. There are pros and cons to both sides, of course, but I see lots of successful VBACs. 

Can I ask why you had your first c-section? There are some cases that make you a better or worse candidate for a successful VBAC.