February 2023 Moms

August Symptoms

2»

Re: August Symptoms

• @ttc3y interesting, I’ve always read that magnesium absorbs better topically. Must be just one of those things that’s different for everyone!

@emeraldisle17 we actually see contractions quite frequently through pregnancy, in all its stages. Even in the first trimester. The uterus starts practicing early! It’s always been wild to me that we can see them without being felt. I’m a tech, btw lol
  • @kristinl492 🤷🏻‍♀️I’ve met people who found their conditions improve with topical magnesium. I’m not against the idea, it just didn’t work with my particular condition. The only thing I didn’t try was a different transdermal carrier like Magnesium oil. That could have made a difference. Epsom salt baths were not an option for me at the time either. Currently, I don’t think the science evidence based studies are able to weigh in one way or the other with transdermal magnesium and it’s efficacy. I’m all for trying new therapies and ideas if the risk is low in causing adverse effects. 
  • Loading the player...
  • Not sure if anybody else has experienced this before, but my last two pregnancies, I’ve had extremely itchy legs- lower legs mostly and especially at night before bed. Drives me nuts!!! No rashes or anything. I think my doctor is going to check me for cholestasis, even though she says it would be pretty unusual this early in pregnancy. I’m wondering if it might have something to do with damage done to my liver from my original epilepsy medication, carbamazepine, that I was on for over 15 years. We’ll see what she finds! 
  • @cpk3535 The liver is a pretty resilient organ. It’s the only organ we have that can regenerate itself. The liver function tests (AST/ALT) would show if there was any lasting damage from the carbamazepine. But with your current symptoms, it’s definitely worth looking into cholestasis, even if too early. I can definitely how itchy legs from unknown causes could be so irritating.