April 2021 Moms

Random Vents

Re: Random Vents

• Ugh insurance is such a racket. I am self employed and pay over $800 a month in premiums for myself and my son. My regular OB visits don’t have a copay but I do pay $40 per US. Since I’m high risk I also see a MFM every month and thats $80 a visit + US.... and somehow none of the copays or US go towards my out of pocket max!! I honestly question if I should skip visits or US to avoid the fees but I worry I’m putting myself and baby at risk. With my first I got a bill for over $15k for genetic testing that was suppose to be covered because I would be over 35 when I delivered but because I was only 34 at the time of the test they denied the claim (even though they told me up front it would be covered.) I spent hours on the phone arguing before they finally covered it. It’s even more frustrating because I work in the medical field and know what stuff actually costs; they inflate it so much when they bill through insurance and it is so wrong! 

@kadeephd - insurance does this with medical codes as a way to sneak out of paying. A doctor can essentially bill for the same service using a slightly different code and one will be covered and one will not. They make choosing the codes really complicated and the responsibility for billing with the “wrong” code ends up falling on the doctor and insurance will refuse to pay. Sometimes instead of arguing with the insurance company it’s better to go to the provider and ask them to use a different billing code. An ultrasound has like 10 different ways it can be coded. If they won’t give you the codes look in your plan or ask for the specific language of what is covered - for instance “Diagnostic Ultrasound Procedures of the Abdomen” vs “Other diagnostic ultrasound procedures.” It’s so annoying that they make us as consumers do the work!!