February 2017 Moms
Options

Teacher talk

Re: Teacher talk

• Options
    @NiceyMeany he's not the one pregnant? Does this younger girlfriend go to your school, too? If so, you must speak up. For me, it'd be the school nurse I'd tell (she runs a program for our pregnant girls to help make sure they're getting prenatal care and have a support system, etc.) If she doesn't, I still think you should tell someone. I would talk to the student and let him know you need to tell someone who's in a better position to help him and maybe collaborate to decide who that will be. 

Also: I haven't told my students and don't plan to announce it. They'll figure it out eventually lol 
  • Options
    Not much to add since I don't teach kids. But I'm a psychology instructor at the local community college. And I have lots of students who are significantly older than me (I'm 23) and it's kind of awkward. They've always been very respectful, but it's hard to teach people who've had much more life experience. I wonder if the 40+ year old students feel like they're being taught by their kid...
    BabyFruit Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    @MommaBean no, he (I'll call him A... I don't want to keep saying "the trans student" because that makes me feel icky) absolutely wouldn't ever have been with a guy, but his girlfriend is notorious for cheating on him with other boys.  The girlfriend is a sophomore at my school (A is a junior), and I feel like they're never NOT in the middle of one scandal or another.  What especially concerns me is the way he said "I'm expecting a baby," as though he's planning to be responsible for this child.

I think letting him decide who to tell is a good idea.  He may even want to tell that person on his own.  Thanks for the advice!
  • Options
    @NiceyMeany good luck! I hope there are others at your school he'll be comfortable confiding in. And I kind of hope his crappy gf is lying or wrong :(
  • Options