August 2016 Moms
Options

Working moms - Plans for maternity leave ?

Re: Working moms - Plans for maternity leave ?

• Options
    I am sooo ready for my maternity leave. It's already hitting 115 degrees in the building where I work. I plan on starting mine at the end of July and using my full 12 weeks, as the company I work for is closing down at the end of October anyways.
  • Options
    I am planning on taking 3-4 weeks off & my husband will be taking the first 2 weeks off with me. Though when I return to work i will be taking the baby ("Wiggles") with me either 2/3 days a week & having my retired mother-in-law watch her the other 3/2 days a week. I work as a patient coordinator at my parents dental office, where my mother (as a young dentist) did the same thing with my brother & I when we were young.  My mother was hoping I would be bringing "Wiggles" with me everyday, but I don't see how anyone would get anything done if I did.
    Has anyone else done something similar?
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    @JournoGrl23  Be sure to check in on how your STD works. Mine has a 7 day wait period, so my first week I'll be using PTO and then using the STD for the next 5 weeks (assuming vaginal 6 week disability period). I get 60% pay from STD. I can top up to 100% of my pay by using some PTO hours each week in addition to the STD pay but it has to be vacation hours so it isn't counted by the STD and deducted from what they pay out. 

BabyFruit Ticker Daisypath Anniversary tickers
  • Options
    @JournoGrl23  Be sure to check in on how your STD works. Mine has a 7 day wait period, so my first week I'll be using PTO and then using the STD for the next 5 weeks (assuming vaginal 6 week disability period). I get 60% pay from STD. I can top up to 100% of my pay by using some PTO hours each week in addition to the STD pay but it has to be vacation hours so it isn't counted by the STD and deducted from what they pay out.