TTC after 35

Introduction - New Member

It looks like there are a few people on here so I figured I'd go ahead and put this out there.

I am 39, my husband is 40. I am new to this entire process as this is the first time in my entire life that I have actually tried to conceive. I have been extremely careful with BC up until now. We just finished our second TTC cycle and I am currently in the TWW. Got my fertility monitor, eating healthy/exercising, drinking lots of water, taking pre-natals and crossing my fingers! I figured we'd see if anything happens for 3-4 months and then re-assess getting more medical advice. My husband has had a semen analysis done though, but we're still waiting for the results. He does have low testosterone (275) so I'll be curious what his doctor says about that when he has his next appointment. I have very regular periods and no history of issues - but I am overweight (BMI 35). I have lost about ten pounds in the past several months and have been eating healthy.

I thought I'd share a bit about my mental processes too, not just medical. I know most people want children and the idea of not doing so is just unheard of, but I had the feeling that I really would be okay without one. Yet over time, I found myself unable to drop the subject and ultimately felt (after thinking and reading about a dozen books on the subject!) that I'd like to at least try. So a big part of me would be happy without a child, but I guess an even bigger part of me wants to pursue parenthood. Long story short we decided we actually really wanted to TTC - after deliberation - and I think the hard part for me now is to know how to feel. It's like an emotional tightrope. If I am going to conceive, then I want to be gearing up mentally for that path and embracing that, but if it turns out that I am unable to conceive - I want to be at peace with that too. I guess I should just embrace the process and let myself accept the excitement.