May 2017 Moms

Daycare / nanny / babysitter thread

Reposting from the randoms thread

wondering how to involve a stranger to care for my toddler and newborn in my own home? So far, our schedules have allowed us to be the only caregivers for DS. Things may be changing with our move - our mothers may be able to help but if not, or not enough, we have been toying with the idea of getting a part time nanny/babysitter. This makes me super nervous even though I know people do it everyday. Any and all perspectives welcomed, please and thank you in advance. 

DS1 7/24/15

DS2 5/7/17

Re: Daycare / nanny / babysitter thread

• Everyone I am close with SAH but I have one close friend who uses a friends older daughter. She's more comfortable because they know the family (acquaintances) and the daughter loves her kids. Personally I have no experience but I know a lot of people post on neighborhood things such as the Nextdoor app and have had luck with their caregivers. 

BabyFruit Ticker
  • I don't have much advice, but I understand what you're feeling! I used to babysit during junior high and high school, but when it comes to my kids I've only relied on family (with the exception of one daycare provider). I don't even want to consider finding a high schooler for date nights. I beg my sister to watch the munchkins. 
    By best suggestion would be to do some interviewing after a few people express interest in watching your kiddos. Lay out your expectations and have them interact with the kids. Maybe do a trial run where you're at home but completely uninvolved so you can kinda monitor or listen just to get a sense of how things will go.  Good luck!
  • Loading the player...