August 2017 Moms

Teachers: announcing to your students?

I'm a dance teacher, I do 18 classes a week in a leotard and tights, so I know I won't be able to keep the secret very long. How/when are you teachers going to tell your students? My boss, the studio owner, already knows, and she suggested wrapping my office door in baby shower paper so everyone would see it through the week. 

Re: Teachers: announcing to your students?

• I teach 8th grade- with my first pregnancy I was a little awkward and never truly announced it! Haha.  This time around, I had a loss in September and so I am nervous about announcing much to them before a couple of good dr visits.  Unfortunately, they pay close attention and will probably catch on before I want them to!
    Anniversary

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • MrsD4911 said:
    I teach 8th grade- with my first pregnancy I was a little awkward and never truly announced it! Haha.  This time around, I had a loss in September and so I am nervous about announcing much to them before a couple of good dr visits.  Unfortunately, they pay close attention and will probably catch on before I want them to!
    Haha! I taught 7th and 8th grade, and when I announced to them at 15 weeks, I had one of my sweetest boys shout out "I knew it!!" When I asked him how he knew, he turned bright red and told me that I had put on some weight LOL. Love the honesty of middle schoolers! 

Pregnancy Ticker

• I probably will do it right before their "growing up" program so they will just know how it happens without me getting any questions. I probably won't be out at all this year since we get out at the end of June and I'm due at the end of August, so I don't really have to say anything. They might even find out from other teachers talking to me in the hallway. That's how my last class found out I was engaged!