March 2016 Moms

Cradle Cap?

Have any of yall experienced cradle cap on your LO? My daughter got it around 2 months and was in her hairline, now at almost 6 months it's spreading further back over her head. She has lots of thick hair so it's hard to see. When I wash her hair I take a rag and massage her head and also use a soft brush to brush as much of the scales out as I can. Is there anything yall recommend me doing to help get rid of it or at least help prevent it spreading? I know it's not hurting her but her scalp just looks awful. Thanks in advance ladies!

Re: Cradle Cap?

• I've never experienced it with my baby but I am a pediatric nurse at a hospital and we use mineral oil. We put the oil on the baby's head and let it thicken up a bit then comb out the scales with a fine toothed comb. It seemed to work after a few treatments with the baby I took care of recently with it. 
  • I havent had to deal with cradle cap with this baby, but my first got it. We used Bag Balm on her. Rubbed it on her head, let it sit for about 5-10 min then washed it out. Bag balm has all sorts of uses, so we always keep some around. Its cheap and easy to get at like Walmart,Target, or drug storesm 
  • Loading the player...
  • I have the same issue, LO is almost 6 months, has a full head of long hair and the scales make their appearance more often than I'd like.  I use a soft brush in the bath after I've got a good lather of baby shampoo, circular motions focusing on the worst areas.  After bath I use a fine tooth comb to get anything else I can see.  We bathe every other day and about two hours before bath time I rub coconut oil/lavender into his hair and scalp to help soften everything up.

good luck!
  • I rubbed coconut oil on the scalp and brushed with the little brush they gave me at the hospital. Cleared it up after a few times. 

August '18 April Siggy Challenge: April Showers

Lilypie Maternity tickers

Pregnancy Ticker