Working Moms
Options

Working mom guilt?

Honu1987Honu1987 member
edited March 2016 in Working Moms
Hi there, 

I'm a new mom. I have an 8 month old son who is simply the greatest. Up until a few days before his birth, I was working full time and had been since I graduated college in 2010. We live far away from family, so when my son was born, my husband and I decided that we did not want to put him in day care. That meant getting by on one income alone. He was making more than I was, so we decided I'd be the stay at home parent. After 3 months of maternity leave, I went back to work full time for one month before finally quitting to take care of my son. I lasted about a month with not working before deciding I needed to interact with people. Also, however I don't like to admit it, I felt defeated giving up my life and dreams to be a stay at home mom. Now I work part time on the weekends as a pharmacy technician, full time Monday through Friday as a mom and it's fulfilling for now.