Working Moms
Options

On-Site Daycare at Work

swflJDswflJD member
edited September 2015 in Working Moms
Does anyone else work for a company with an on-site daycare service?  Do you use it?  I am an in-house attorney for a large corporation, and my company is planning to open a new on-site day care facility the first quarter of next year.  It will be a brand new, state of the art facility and have a contract with a top-rated child care agency.  The exact cost will be announced at the end of this quarter, but it is supposed to be comparable to similar local facilities.    

I am still in my first trimester (so, I know it is early to start contemplating these things), but I am trying to weigh our options between the on-site service or an outside daycare.  On one hand, it would be incredibly convenient to have one less stop to make on the way to work in the mornings, and it would be nice to have the option to visit my baby during my lunch break, etc.  But, I am concerned that it may make it harder to separate my work and personal life, which I have worked so hard to keep separate.  I also worry that having the option to pop in for a visit may be too much of a distraction and that my career could suffer.  Additionally, because the facility will be so new, I will not have the benefit of getting reviews from other parents/co-workers.

Has anyone else used an on-site daycare service at their place of employment?  What would you say are the pros and cons? 

Re: On-Site Daycare at Work

• Options
    I don't have experience, but I can dream. I would have loved to have on-site daycare. My company considered it at one time, but that time is well past. I firmly believe I would have the discipline to visit appropriately. One big plus - BF would have been 20 min a day (DD ate in 5 min and was predictable) rather than near an hour to pump at work (3x pumping, cleaning, etc.). As it was I found an in-home care 10 min away by a compassionate mom and that was doable.