Baby Names
Options

What your kid's teacher thinks...

edited February 2015 in Baby Names
Hello All :)

I'm not sure if a similar thread has been posted (haven't seen one, but I'm very new), so sorry if this is redundant.  I am a public high school teacher and see about 175 kids each semester so 350 students per school year.  I run into a lot of hilarious names on the job and thought I would share my experiences thus far.  I have only been a teacher for 3 years (plus one year as a student teacher, and two years before that as an elementary school teachers assistant), so I'm sure more experienced teachers will have even more examples than me.  Sometimes I think parents name their kids JUST to eff with the world.  Please be aware, parents, that while we love your kid a ton despite the special snowflake name you've given them, we totally laugh at you while we are looking at our roster for the coming semester.  You are not interesting, mysterious, or unique.  You are FUNNY.  Here are just a few names from JUST THIS YEAR which have totally made me side-eye the parents, and feel spectacularly bad for the poor, powerless student.

-Two brothers named Pal and Buddy
-Asia (pronounced Ah-See-Ah.  I said her name like the region of the world for an entire semester before the last day of the semester when she quietly corrected me with what looked like enormous amounts of frustration, embarrassment, and exhaustion.  Poor girl)
-Destin (her last name began with an E, so since teachers often refer to students as "First Name, Last initial" She was always Destin E.
-Elekcia 

I could go on.

I have a lot of students with rare/interesting/beautiful names which are REAL names and are spelled correctly.  There are gorgeous names out there, no need to make ones up!  Most of these students were quiet, smart, sweet, and pretty much always humiliated or annoyed with their names.  Don't do this to your kids!