Special Needs
Options

Where do I start?

I'm sorry in advance that this is turning out to be rather long-winded, but my momma gut is telling me that something more is going on and I could really use some feedback. My son, now 3yrs. 2mos, was born at 30 weeks. We followed an early intervention tracking program from 18 months to 3 years. He never fully qualified for services because he fell just outside of the "require services" qualifications even though he was delayed in a number of areas. I questioned our pedi at my son's 2 year appt and after I filled out a questionnaire our pedi did a "quick eval once over" and concluded he was not autistic--though DS1 screamed and cried through the entire 3 minute evaluation of trying to get DS1 to give him a hug--which he eventually did. 

Fast forward a year later, and my husband and I are noticing more little quirks and when you add them all together, things just seem off. My husband is a teacher and I was a teacher before staying at home, so I'm not totally unfamiliar with autistic children--but I've obviously never had to diagnose one or go through the process with a younger than school age kiddo. Things we have noticed increasing:

• Needs to be rubbing something most of the time---especially when drinking/eating. His hands are usually in his shirt or his pants. (ugh! this one drives me crazy!)
  • repeats himself. ex) "mommy go in the car soon?", when I answer no, he will repeat "not go in the car yet" 5-6 times and it usually leads to running away crying. This happens numerous times throughout the day in many different conversations
  • He seems to "get stuck" in phrases or noises
  • Recently, in Sunday School (a class of 8 kids) he has started having meltdowns specifically during "craft" time at the table. He will either run around the room crying or just sit at the table crying until I remove him from the classroom. I haven't found another way to calm him down except remove him from the situation.