Attachment Parenting

Showering

Hi all, I've posted before but mostly lurk as I have very little experience and am trying to learn!

My LO is 7 months old, and can no longer safetly stay in the bouncer seat while I shower. I can't shower when he naps because we cosleep for naps and bedtime so he will not sleep without me. I am a single Mama (widow) so waiting until someone else is home is not an option. Any suggestions? I've tried the pack n play but he usually cries and I hate doing that to him!

Re: Showering

• I used to put DD in her rock-n-play right outside the shower door (or even just on a rug/blanket with some toys) and I'd keep the door open a little so I could see her and talk to/sing to her while I enjoyed a shower.  I'd close the door and generally baby proof the bathroom so she wouldn't start sucking on the toilet brush or anything:).

I actually tried holding her in the shower once but it was a huge fail and probably pretty dangerous too.  Duh.  First time moms :).
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • I switched up to the exersaucer at this point and put it just outside the bathroom in the hallway because our bathroom is too skinny for an exersaucer.  By the time my kids outgrew the exersaucer, they could be trusted to play on the floor of the bathroom and not drink the toilet bowl cleaner or dump out all the q-tips.

My kids both hated shower water spraying in their faces, so bringing them in with me was not an option.  Exersaucer to the rescue!
    High School English teacher and mom of 2 kids:

DD, born 9/06/00 -- 12th grade
    DS, born 8/25/04 -- 7th grade
  • AlikiAliki member
    My first DD was the same way, and I'd bring her into the bathroom with me. Either she sat on the rug in the bathroom (I have clear shower curtains, so I could watch her the entire time), or we both climbed into the tub for a bath together.

I'm sorry for your loss.