Working Moms
Options

New mom, New Career

WolfBride87WolfBride87 member
edited April 2014 in Working Moms
Hello everyone! I hadn't seen much discussion on the subject and I'm sure there are others who've had similar experiences, but I am about to be a first time mom and it has intensified my search for a stable career.
 You see, I'm a real go getter but I just haven't had much luck in the job world as far as stability. I have a degree in graphic design and also have a background in sustainability. The closest thing I've had to a job in my career field was when I worked as a Geospatial Information Technician last year. For those of you who have not heard of this, it's basically collecting GPS data for use in map making. Thing is these jobs are rare to come by and most are contract only so there is no definite job available. I have been wanting to switch careers to something more stable so I thought of going back to my original plan of working with animals. I tried to get financial aid a couple of years back to continue school but was told I am over my units and can not get any more aid. I tried going a different route by attending the local career center religiously. I would show up every week, do the necessary research, and attended all the classes (more than once mind you) and everytime I believed I would get assistance I was blown off or couldn't find an employer willing to cooperate with the training program. I am going to look into scholarships since that may be my only option. :/
I really want to have a career, especially now that I will have a child to support. Has anyone had any difficulties with aid for schooling or has any links to information that might be helpful? Thanks in advance.

Re: New mom, New Career

• Options