July 2014 Moms
Options

Lifting 50lb client - Your thoughts?

I am a Social Worker but have a social work/nursing type of job working with those who have special needs.

My job is usually a "no lift" policy but at one of my job sites I have a client who is just under that weight qulification to have lifts put in.... Therefore her workers are required to lift her when needed. She is 50lbs.

When I asked my midwife, she said no right away.

I would only be lifting this person twice per shift, 2-3 times per week. A simple transfer from wheelchair to bed and she is able to weight bare somewhat.

Do you think this is a big deal? Obviously I want the best for baby but I'm also realistic and think of parents (or me for the next babe) who have kids around that size who you can't avoid lifting from day to day. If lifting this person is an "absolute no" I would be losing many hours of work (therefore getting a smaller maternity leave benefit) as I would have to forfeit night shifts (single staffed at night).

Your thoughts/ opinions welcome... Thank you!

Re: Lifting 50lb client - Your thoughts?

• Options
    Unless you have had prior weight lifting limits, I'd say no. My doc told me to refrain from lifting anything over 25lbs. If your doc told you no then you 

BFP#1: 08/30/12 EDD 04/30/12 m/c 09/04/12 6wks
    BFP#2: 01/27/13 EDD 10/06/13 missed m/c 02/25/13 9wks
    BFP#3: 10/30/13 EDD 07/05/14 Our little dude was born on 07/10/14 @ 2:19p <3

• Options
    If your MW said no already, I would likely follow her recommendation. Is lifting 50lbs something you already do regularly? If not, now isn't a good time to start. Parents lifting their children do so on a regular basis so they're used to it.
    One direction photo: One Direction gif onedirectiongifmacarenaey_zpsbdaf903f.gif
    DS born 3.12 
    DD born 7.14
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    Yes - lifting up to 50lbs in my job is normal for me ... Been doing for 3 years now.
  • Options