Homeschooling
Options

Preschool homeschooling help

I am new to this and I would love some help getting my preschooler started. I am looking for some good hands-on curriculum. I was also wondering how long you spend on teaching and/or what your day looks like with teaching. Thanks for any and all help!!!
baby 2Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Preschool homeschooling help

• Options
    Well, J. is three. We don't use an official curriculum at this point (and probably won't until he is 5 or 6). We just build learning into our day. 

So when I bake, he helps me measure. Or we count the stairs we climb at the library. Or we estimate how many toys are in a basket. (That's all math.) We read books. We point out letters we recognize on signs. We retell stories in our own words. (Language)

As for where I get ideas, I either make things up or the internet from various sites/blogs. I'll try to come back and link some favorites later (I'm not at my normal computer). 
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options
    My DD is 4. We use the Letter of the Week curriculum (here's a link if you want: https://www.letteroftheweek.com/preschool_age_3.html). I have however tweaked the curriculum to add and change some things like Spanish and Health but only because she has shown an interest in those things and I don't want to water things down if it isn't necessary. We only have scheduled formal school time for about 3 hrs (or less if she works quickly) for only 4 days a week but every moment can be learning like helping me cook, helping me count change, sort laundry by color, etc. Not sure how old your preschooler is but I suggest finding a good curriculum you agree with, adjust it if you want, and sit down and draft up a nice schedule you feel will fit your family.
    Lilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Wedding Countdown Ticker

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    barnwife said: