3rd Trimester
Options

Leave...

Im a little lost as to what I am entitled to when I have my LO as far as time off of work. I have had a few health issues with this pregnancy, ie high blood pressure, random contractions, infections and bleeding. My Dr is considering putting me off of work as of this Friday or the end of January. My 1 year anniversary at my job is mid-January and Im not even sure if I will be eligible for FMLA then or not. I have been working part-time for the past 5 months now so I dont think I have enough "Time in" to qualify. If my Dr puts me off of work can I get unemployment? I didnt count on being high risk and losing my FMLA. Plus they denied my SDD because I was technically pregnant (but didnt know it) when I signed up. I thought we had this pregnancy and maternity leave all sorted out before I got pregnant. Guess not...Tongue Tied

ETA: Spelling correction!

Baby Slings at Nurtured Family BabyFetus Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Leave...

• Options
    I was placed on bedrest when I was 25 weeks because of an imcompentent cervix and I'm 34 weeks now. I would think that you should still qualify for at least some kind of short term disability because I did and haven't been working at my job for a year yet. Don't expect to get your money right away though, I mailed my info for short term diability the end of october and didn't recieve my money until about a week ago. Also don't even bother with unemployment because I attempted that first and since you technically can't work you won't qualify for unemployment. Hope this is helpful!
  • Options

FMLA typically kicks in on your 1 year anniversary, but I do think there is an hourly requirement so since you've been working PT for a while I'm not sure if you will meet it by 1 year or not.  It's very easy to look into though just Google "FMLA" and plenty of info will come up.  That's not paid leave though.  That's just to protect your job so that you can return to work within 12 weeks.