Pre-School and Daycare

What are you getting/making for teachers?

This is DS's first year in Preschool. He has a main teacher, an assistant, a special educator and an SLP. Before kids I was a teacher and loved gift cards, but I just cant afford to get them all more than $10 or $15 each. I feel like that's not enough. I think I'll do a $10 gift card to a local bakery and then local jam or honey or something like that.

What are you doing?

www.tryvermontfirst.com

Like giveaways? Like my blog!
www.facebook.com/TryVermontFirst
I love these two beautiful children!
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Re: What are you getting/making for teachers?

• I'm a teacher too, but I think I see things differently than you. I hated getting gift cards... I think they are impersonal and don't really show any appreciation, but rather, "I was at the grocery store and in a passing thought remembered I needed to get my kid's teacher something to show they are appreciated... Let me pick up a Starbucks gift card and sign my kids name to it." Not my thing. My kids and I went to Ulta and picked up soaps, lotions, manicure kits, etc. We then went and bought gift bags together, baked cookies together, and made cards for each teacher together. They love being involved and are so excited to give their teachers their gifts.  It's not the cost of the gift, it's the thought. I've received hand written/drawn cards from kids with absolutely no other gift attached,and those are the ones that I have kept, that meant the most to me, and are the students I remember! 

Also, I'm not a big spender! I looked for deals and shopped when they happened.   

Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers Lilypie Third Birthday tickers
  • It is our preschool's policy that a collection is made and a gift is bought for the classroom.  They specifically state no gifts be given directly to the teachers.  So we will contribute to that.  Probably around 30 dollars.