Connecticut Babies
Options

Milford Hospital?

Hi all!

I'm new to The Bump as my husband and I just recently found out we are pregnant! (I'm 7 wks 4 days!).. we are super excited..We live in Milford, CT and my OBGYN just told me he is no longer taking any new prenatal cases :-(... as upsetting as this was to me( I love my dr!).. i knew we had no choice but to find a new one. The office was kind enough to reccommend another practice here in town. We've already had our "confirmation" appt. with them and met the new Dr. They informed us that they only deliver at Milford Hospital as the practice/office is actually owned and operated by Milford Hospital ... interesting.

Needless to say, I have not heard anything bad about Milford Hospitals birthing center.. just wanted to see if any other CT women on here have either already gave birth there .. no anything about.. or are scheduled to give birth there?? Took a look at their website and childbirth center section.. looks comfortable to me... just wanted anothers opinion :-)

Thanks so much in advance all!!

Pregnancy Ticker I've finally married my BEST FRIEND :-) Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Milford Hospital?

• Options
    The only thing you may want to think about is if they have a NICU, otherwise God forbid anything happened they would have to transport your LO to another hospital.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options
    Milford is a great hospital! I used to work there!! I'm not sure what doctors work there anymore, I think there is a Dr Ahmed who is great.  They do not have a NICU, but having been an L&D nurse for 10 years, not everyone needs one! And, as the pregnancy progresses, your doc can advise you if he/she thinks you should deliver in a hospital with a NICU.  A hospital like Milford is well equipped to deal with any transient issues of the newborn like TTN, hypoglycemia etc.  
    BabyFruit Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Options