Babies: 0 - 3 Months
Options

Pumping and Formula Feeding Questions?!

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting, so I hope I am doing it in the correct spot!  I have a question about pumping and formula feeding.  Originally I wanted to do exclusive formula feeding, but after putting a lot of thought into it, I am leaning towards options of how I can also introduce breast milk to my baby.  I am thinking of pumping and formula feeding, so that the baby can have breast milk as well as formula.  I am just curious if anyone else has done this and their experiences with it.

I understand the benefits that breast feeding has for baby and mom, however, I am not interested in doing it, so please do not respond as to the benefits of doing that.

Thanks!

Re: Pumping and Formula Feeding Questions?!

• Options

I did it for the first 4 weeks but stopped because I won't be able to pump when I return to work. I did it for the health benefits for DS but had trouble ever getting a decent amount. Usually I could get about 1 oz out each breast each time I pumped. Pumping typically doesn't yield as much BM as a baby can nursing at the breast.

It was worth it to me for the time that I did it and I'd definitely encourage you to do it for as long as you can. The health benefits are worth it! If you're not planning to do it long term I'd suggest renting a pump from your local hospital. They're the most efficient and cost effective if you won't be pumping long term.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options
    I guess one thing I can suggest is to find a schedule to promote consistent milk production. Particularly since it sounds like it won't be your primary food source, you'll still need to be regular to keep it coming in.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options