D.C. Area Babies
Options

Question on mother's rooms at fed offices

hi ladies, I'm a contractor but I have to go to a fed building for a full-day meeting.  I don't think the meeting coordinator particularly cares (or is doing anything about) my question about needing access to a mother's room, so I wanted to follow up on my own.  Who would I contact to find out if I can access whatever room they may have?  Also, at my company we call it a mother's room, but do you all call it something else? 

I'm starting at the agency's help desk, but I think that might only be IT related.  any help is much appreciated!!

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Question on mother's rooms at fed offices

• Options

Maybe someone in facilities? or HR?

I've heard it called Lactation Room. We only have one building (out of the many fed buildings we occupy) that has one and it just came about this year.

It's very possible that the building does not have one. Plenty of fed buildings don't. I would look into reserving an empty conference room or office if they don't have one.

Off to the beach

DS 7/18/2010
    Handy 2.0 Due Early August

2011/2012 Races
    12/17/2011 Christmas Caper 10K
    2/11/2012 Have a Heart 5K
    3/17/2012 DC RNR Half Marathon
    4/22/2012 10M Parkway Classic
    10/28/2012 Marine Corps Marathon
  • Options
    yikes, thanks for the info, I guess I've been spoiled!  I've been trying to find a facilities contact for the office but can't - I'll try HR, thanks for the tip! 
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    Ask for the Health Unit in most federal buildings and they will have a lactation room.
  • Options

Ours is called a Lactation Room and I think it's managed by the "quality of life" office. But I don't know if every agency has one of those.

On the off chance that you're going to the agency where I work, you could PM me where you're going. I know it's a long shot, but you never know.

AlternaTickers - Cool, free Web tickers
  • Options

Lactation room..