Texas Babies
Options

Childbirth/Breastfeeding classes at Methodist?

Who's taken them?  Were they useful?  Informative?  Or a waste of time?

I've heard mixed reviews about these classes in general and even my doctor said some people like them and others say it's a waste of time.  Thoughts?

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Childbirth/Breastfeeding classes at Methodist?

• Options

I took the Childbirth class and only to benefit my DH.  I am a NICU nurse so I am knowledgable in that department, I really wanted my DH to hear what goes on.  Out of 15 men/dads, he was 1 of 2 that participated and it really helped him understand L and D.  We also toured L and D and the PP unit.  It was a good little class, we did it on a Saturday.  If you are going to deliver at Methodist in the Med Center sign up for Womans Plus Program (online I believe).  You get a little itty bitty discount on parking and if you deliver during the weekday, your H can get a meal voucher. 

I did not do the Breastfeeding class. I have a huge support system of breastfeeding friends and LCs.  If that is something you want to do, I would.   Their LCs were AWESOME, the ones in the hospital and the ones at their Stork Nest.

Hope I gave you some insight.  If I had no clue about childbirth or breastfeeding I would take a class at the hospital I was going to deliver at. 

• Options
    My husband and I enjoyed the childbirth classes.  We had a pretty involved group and the nurse teaching it was great.  I was never really in the dark about childbirth and had already ready two books on it, but the relaxation techniques, tour, and talking to others part was fun and informative. 

Now the breastfeeding I didn't do and saw as a waste of time since the only way I was really going to learn was with my actual child. Plus, when you are in the hospital they send a breastfeeding nurse to you to help you get started.  So I saw that class as a waste of time.