Babies: 0 - 3 Months
Options

Anyone an expert of Bilirubin/Jaundice?

I am getting very frustrated with this whole process. Her first level was 9.8, then by the time we left the hospital it was 11 so they had us go home with a bililight. She was on the light until yesterday (since 5/20) and her levels peaked at 19. The doctor had me take her off the light at 13.4 yesterday and they had me have her levels checked again today and they were 14.8. Does anyone know if it is normal for the level to go up after taking her off the light? Will it go back down?

I am suppose to take her again for the 6th time to get ther level checked on Thursday. They said if it goes up more than we will talk about putting her back on the light. TIA for any information you might have.

imageBaby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Anyone an expert of Bilirubin/Jaundice?

• Options
    nattnnattn member

I'm no expert but DD was jaundice for about the first two weeks so I've gone through it. They kept confusing me by telling me the number because her number would go up just a little and they would have a positive reaction. I kept thinking that was really bad because I thought she was getting worse. I finally asked to see the chart and it all made sense. The older they get, the higher the normal range gets.

I wish I could help more, but I honestly don't remember her exact numbers, I just remember being confused about it.

• Options
    All of my kids had it.... It is normal for it to go up a little bit once they get off the light...  I breastfeed my LO every two hours instead of three... You need to up there feeds un hour becuase the more they poop and pee the faster it goes away...Also try to put your LO in the sun light has much has possible... Good Luck...
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    elisbuelisbu member