June 2013 Moms
Options

babysitter??

so i went to meet with a babysitter tonight and i over all really like her. The only thing is i don't know how i feel about her not claiming it on her taxes, cause then i cant. It will be almost $5000 in a year that i spend on child care that i can't claim. Have you guys had a baby sitter that didn't and what did you think?
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: babysitter??

• Options
    i havent had a babysitter, but I'm personally a yoga instructor and when i get private clients that pay me in cash, I also don't claim it.  It's hard to make money with jobs like that and then to have taxes taken out is painful -- plus being an independent contractor like that means no benefits.  So I would understand...but only because of the job situation I have.  I think prior to being a yoga teacher I wouldn't have understood...
    Lilypie Pregnancy tickers
  • Options

imageKHadden26:
    i havent had a babysitter, but I'm personally a yoga instructor and when i get private clients that pay me in cash, I also don't claim it.  It's hard to make money with jobs like that and then to have taxes taken out is painful -- plus being an independent contractor like that means no benefits.  So I would understand...but only because of the job situation I have.  I think prior to being a yoga teacher I wouldn't have understood...

I 100% why she wouldn't. FTM and not sure how much of a difference it makes to claim and not to claim.   

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    $5,000 year sounds cheap to me, so I wouldn't care! LOL  If you want someone that reports their income, you will most likely pay more to make up that difference anyway.  Depending on what your effective tax rate is (look at your tax return and divide the amt of taxes by your income), you might only be saving around $350/yr anyway (based on a 7% national avg effective tax rate).
    TTC since 2/2009
    11/2010 - Surprise BFP - m/c @ 16 weeks - dx Lupus Anticoagulant