January 2012 Moms

working moms: I'm feeling depressed :/

I've only been back to work 2 weeks (I'm a teacher, so I was off for the summer) and I already feel terrible.  I never wanted to be a working mom to begin with, but I have no choice.   Our two incomes are necessary to survive.  But I HATE it.  It's nothing against my job at all, I love my job and it's perfect for me.  But all I really wanted was to be a full-time mom.

I feel terrible when I leave DS.  When I pick him up I have to go straight home, feed him, then make dinner.  By the time I get dinner cleaned up it's bedtime for DS.  I get almost no time with him.  He's not attached to anyone, so he never seems to miss me at all.  He doesn't cry when I leave or get excited when I come back...I just feel like I'm not his mom anymore.  Just another one of his caregivers.  And I miss having my buddy all day :(  After my maternity leave I was ok after a week or so back at work.  But this summer I felt like I was doing what I was meant to do, so it's been harder to go back now.  I just need some encouragement right now. I've cried every night this week!

Anniversary

Re: working moms: I'm feeling depressed :/

• Hang in there.  It's gets easier.  FInd ways to simplify your routine (not easy, but if you do little things).  And while your son may not know now, the days are coming when you come in or pick him up and he'll give you the huge smile.  He knows his mommy.  I also try to just ignore the world around me when I get home and spend 15-30 minutes just playing.  It means I have to stay up a little later, but it's worth it.  Good luck!
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • I'm sorry that you're having a rough time. Try to hang in there.