1st Trimester
Options

Trouble getting Insurance, advice needed!

I will try to keep this as short as possible. :) All advice appreciated.  We are at our wit's end.

I lost my coverage on 6/7/12, the day after we found out we are pregnant, due to turning 26 (was on my parents' plan previously).  I am a grad student and DH is self-employed.  We applied to get health insurance independently and were both denied due to being expectant parents. We have looked into Tenncare (state medicaid) and our income is too high.  I am eligible for COBRA but the price is exorbitant. 

Anyone have any luck getting insurance while pregnant?  Any advice where to look or what our options might be? I know there's no chance of it covering maternity, but we will take anything, really!

Thank you!!  

Our "Love Child" is due Valentine's Day 2013!
P1040109BabyFetus Ticker
Our Fur Babies: Karma and Abbey
dscn0858106_0810

Re: Trouble getting Insurance, advice needed!

• Options
    Ask if they have it at wherever you have car insurance.  I did that for awhile while I was going back to school when I was already married and it was a little expensive and did not cover a lot but definitely better than no insurance (this was through American Family Insurance).  I was also able to get a maternity rider added on to cover a lot of that expense had I become pregnant, but I never did while on that insurance, and since I wasn't pregnant when I got it that was a bit of a different situation than you are in.  Worth a phone call though.
    image BabyFruit Ticker Lilypie Angel and Memorial tickers
  • Options
    emjo03emjo03 member

Check with your school.

If you are a grad student you should be able to buy insurance through your school.

• Loading the player...
  • Options

imageLauraT25:
    Does your grad school not offer an option that you can purchase?  I would look into it, it might not be great coverage but it would be cheaper than COBRA.