Parenting after 35

Introduction and a couple of questions

Hi everyone,

I am 36 and the mom of the cutest (ok, I know I'm biased :) ) little girl ever.  Z is 15 months old.

Z has had a yeast rash for over a month now.  Called the pedi and was told to alternate Lotramin AF and Bacitracin at diaper changes along with diaper free time.  This seems to almost clear it up, but doesn't seem to quite clear it entirely.  Every time it I think we've finally beaten it, it comes back in a day to two.  Any suggestions?  At her 15 month appointment, she still wasn't walking.  He said we could wait until 18 months to see if she gets there before starting occupational therapy.  Anyone have a similar situation and end up getting the therapy?  I know odds are she'll  start walking any day now, but I'm wondering what a therapist might do with her.

Thanks!

Re: Introduction and a couple of questions

• Hi and welcome and congrats!

I have no knowledge of the rash problem.. we've been pretty lucky there.  But I've always heard that plain ole' naked time is the best cure.

As for walking, my kid crawled forever and literally stood up one day and started walking.  Then running.  He was about 16 months and I always thought that was about average.   You also have an only/first child, and they're sometimes a bit behind in that department since they don't have older siblings to teach them new tricks. 

Unless she has other developmental issues that are causing you concern, I wouldn't worry about it one bit.  She'll get to it eventually, then you'll wish she'd slow down!

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Welcome.  My Son had a rash about two months ago that took 2 weeks to clear completely (we had to be obsessive about ointment). As for the walking if you think something is wrong try the Early Intevention.
  • Loading the player...