Working Moms
Options

Looking to return to work

Not going to bore you with my long history, but I've mostly been a SAHM since my first was born. I was basically pushed into this role because childcare where we currently live far exceeded my  take-home pay, but we're relocating this summer to an area with reasonable childcare costs and my older one will be starting kindergarten (the town we'll likely go to has full day K and affordable aftercare). While I've actually loved being home we really need a second income, so now that I would be able to afford to work it's time to return to reality.

My background is as a history graduate student and I spent 7 years working in history museums (p/t while in college and f/t after college), but work in that field dried up before the recession really began, so I would be looking at building a new career entirely. I'm open to basically anything I can find in this economy. Have a bachelors in history plus some graduate school (did not finish).

How do I explain a 5 year gap on my resume? Do I come right out in a cover letter and say I have been home due to family commitments or will that leave me out of the running? Any advice on finding a job from a distance in a bad economy?

Thanks so much!

imageimageBaby Birthday Ticker TickerBaby Birthday Ticker TickerBaby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Looking to return to work

• Options

I don't know if this is the "right answer" but I would say "I took some time off work to care for my daughter, but now she has started kindergarten and I'm ready to return to work"and I wouldn't even mention the younger one.

Good luck in your search!

Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • Options

Good luck getting back into the workforce!

One word of caution that I don't know if you have thought of... If the day care costs in your new area are significantly less, I am assuming the cost of living and therefore salaries would be lower as well - not sure if this is the case, but thought I'd mention.