Working Moms
Options

question - maternity leave

I could use some advice and would like to hear your thoughts. 

I'm a teacher in a SMALL private school.  My due date is somewhere in December.  As much as I'd love to stay home with my baby, our finances won't allow for that.  Knowing you HAD to go back to work after the baby was born, how long did you take off for your maternity leave?  (I don't get paid leave, vacation, or sick time.)

Re: question - maternity leave

• Options

I'm not a teacher, but I am the primary income earner and carry the insurance, so I knew I was going back to work.  I could take up to a year off (unpaid) but I definitely don't have the savings for that.  I took as much time off as I could without jeopardizing our finances.  I took 1 week of sick time, got paid 5 weeks via STD, used 3 weeks of vacation, and had scraped together enough savings for one additional week of unpaid leave.  All in all, it ended up being about 11 weeks.

I know you said you don't get paid leave, and your school is small-are you eligible for FMLA?  Your doctor probably won't release you back to work for at least 6-8 weeks, so you're likely looking at having to take at least that much off. 

Love: 8.10.99
    Marriage: 12.18.04
    DD1: 5.19.10
    DD2: 4.11.12
    #3 EDD 4.23.16

• Options

Physically, I felt fine at 3 weeks out. But my job involves sitting in front of a computer, so it's not like I would have been strained.

However - the baby wasn't sleeping through the night, my husband had already gone back to work, and I was frazzled. I still hadn't gotten into a routine at that point, and going back to work would have pushed me over the edge. We put the baby in daycare at about 8 weeks, and I got back to work. I'm self-employed, so any "leave" comes out of my bottom line.

• Loading the player...
  • Options