Childless not by choice
Options

The end of the road

We have been TTC for over 2 years. We were in our mid thirties and knew it was time. After one year of TTC and no baby arrived, I knew it was time to seek help. The last year has been spent at the doctor trying to figure out what the issue is, having test after test, clomid, injections and 2 failed IUI's. They found nothing wrong so the IUI's should have worked, they were textbook. Unfortunately here we are...no baby, recovering a bit financially and hurt. 

Before this journey we had many talks and decided how far we would go.   It was hard to even think at the time that we would actually get to the end of the road. But never the less we decided that we would go as far as IUI and that is it.  Infertility treatments are not covered by insurance and we do not have a ton of expendable cash.  I am a third grade teacher and Matt works for Lowe's. In our opinion it would not be a good choice to put ourselves into debt to have a baby and then BE in debt with a baby to support. IUI would be the last stop.  Adoption is equally expensive and is not the right choice for us.  We want our own child. Please understand that us not wanting to adopt does not mean we think it is a bad thing to do...we have friends who have adopted and we are thrilled for them. It is just not what we want. 

So long story short, we are not pregnant. We are very sad. I am very angry.  Matt is dealing with it better than I am. Unexplained infertility...so what now?   How do I live with this? We cannot afford any of the next steps! Please...I don't know what to do or how to make this better.  I just want to wake up and be happy with what we have.  A home. Two dogs. Each other.  How?  How can I live with this?  

Re: The end of the road

• Options

Hi there,