VBAC

VBAC Pusher

Do you find yourself feeling sad for/wanting to advise Moms who just blindly accept the RCS mumbo-jumbo their providers are feeding them?  A few times in the past weeks, I've been around Moms who are scheduling their RCS without even a thought to a VBAC.   I've never really been the type to butt into someone's medical life, because I'm not a doctor and it's really not my place.  Well except for here on the Bump, where everyone is an expert : -)

What do you do in these situations?  Suggest a VBAC?  Let it go? 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: VBAC Pusher

• I try to stay away from birth politics unless asked directly. I was talking to another mom (who I don't know very well) about how DS2 was a VBAC, and she told me her second kid was a RCS. The reason she decided to have a RCS was bc she had a horrible long labor with her first kid, and didn't want the same thing to happen again. Looking at it that way, I can totally understand why a woman wouldn't want to attempt a VBAC. There are huge hurdles in place for any woman to have a normal, straight-forward vaginal birth in the current maternity system, and it's about 10x harder for someone with a previous c-section.
    DS1 - Feb 2008

DS2 - Oct 2010 (my VBAC baby!)

• Usually I just CASUALLY say, "oh, you don't want to try a VBAC?" if they say no I just leave it, if They say their Dr. Won't allow it but they want to I usually refer them to ICAN or my Dr/MW, and if course if they want to know more I'm always happy to talk about it :)
  • Loading the player...
  • I haven't come across that IRL yet - I don't have a lot of close friends who have kids, and only one of them has had a c/s, and I know she'll be trying for a VBAC when the time comes.  I probably would at least do what pp said - ask if they were interested in VBAC to see if it was a Dr. thing.