School-Aged Children
Options

Bullying in 1st grade

My 1st grader has come home crying multiple times the past few weeks. Granted she can be OVERLY sensitive sometimes, but I am really becoming quite concerned! I plan on calling the school tomorrow, but am unsure how to deal with this.

Do any of you ladies have any advice?

TIA

Re: Bullying in 1st grade

• Options

I'm a lurker... but wanted to give some advice.  I am a 2nd grade teacher and deal with this often.  Definitely call the teacher and let him/her know of your concerns.  There are times when students are bullied and teachers aren't aware (on the playground, at lunch, etc.).   I always tell my kids if it happens when I'm not around I dont know its happened and that they need to let me know as soon as possible.  However, there are teachers who know and don't act on it because they feel it isn't a "big deal".

I think you are doing the right thing by calling the school!   This way they are informed!   GL!

Daisypath Happy Birthday tickers
  • Options

My 1st grader has actually been dealing with this for about 2 weeks. Thankfully, the child has been reprimanded and it's slowed down a lot. 

When you go have a meeting with the teacher make for sure that they tell all of the specials teachers so that they are aware of the student bullying your child. My son's bully was making it a point to not necessarily do anything to him until they were under the care of their specials teachers such as the PE teacher or the recess teachers. Then, when he'd complain they'd tell him to try to handle it on his own, etc.

Make for sure that your child knows that they can tell any teacher they are with if they are being bullied. Let them know that they can go to the principal and counselor even. Make for sure that they understand that they won't get into more trouble for doing so.