Breastfeeding

8--10 Hours without pumping or breastfeeding?

I will be out of work for leave for 6-7 weeks. I am a teacher that commutes 1 hour away.
I leave home at 6:15 and return about 4:15. I will only have about 3 1/2 weeks of the school year remaining when I return back to work.
I will not pump at school. Our classrooms do not lock, and our bathrooms do not have outlets. I know what federal law says and blah blah so save it. It's not an option for me.
I want to pump and nurse at home as much as my body will allow during my leave and anytime I am at home after I return for the few weeks.
I can even wake up at night to pump when baby is still sleeping if needed. (kind of like a reverse to those that say the pump or nurse often during the day but sleep 8-10 hours at night)
I'm worried about losing my milk supply during these 3 1/2 weeks and not being about to nurse during the summer months when I will be home with her.
Has anyone tried to go this long during a day without pumping or nursing and still been able to produce enough for their baby?
Also, FMLA will not apply to me teacher, and I have not been employed with the state 12 months. So. 6-7 weeks is maximum.

Re: 8--10 Hours without pumping or breastfeeding?

• Can you pump in your car durinig a break? This long w/o pumping or nursing is going to put a serious dent in your supply.

• I don't think that would work. Even a couple days of that schedule would hurt your supply, a few weeks might knock it out.
  • Loading the player...
  • Nope, won't work.
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Nope- that won't do.

you are 1. going to be in pain and 2. your supply is going to take a major hit.

Gotta find some way to make that work.

Lilypie Fifth Birthday tickers Lilypie Third Birthday tickers