Adoption
Options

Newbie intro with questions!

Hi there! First off, I want to thank all of you who share on this board, I've been lurking for a week or two now and have gained a lot of valuable information from those who post on the board. I love the FAQs you all just did, thank you so much!

My husband and I have decided to start researching international adoption and we're most interested in adopting from China. So far we've talked to a friends who have adopted from China who gave us the name of a few agencies nearby, but we also want to look at other agencies to see which one fits best for us. Since there is so much information on the internet, I'm curious what sources you all found helpful to find reputable adoption agencies?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Re: Newbie intro with questions!

• Options

I am far from an expert on IA so take my suggestions with a grain of salt-

But I'd start by joining some of the Yahoogroups for IA.  It was suggested to me when we explored IA to join the Yahoo group called Adoption_Agency_Research but I am sure there are some groups specifically for China.

My only other reaction to your post -  my limited knowledge of China's programs is that unless you are seeking a Waiting Child (either older or correctable medical issue), the wait in the general China program is quite long--- three or more years.  An aquaintance in the program was quoted five years!   

Best of luck to you!

image Best friends and sisters... 24 months and 16 months
  • Options