D.C. Area Babies
Options

Any teachers with babies in day care?

Hello all,

This is my first post on the babies board!  We recently found out that I am pregnant, I'm due in February, and I'm planning to go back to work at the end of August 2010.  (I'm a teacher.)  Any other teachers with babies in day care?  I'm wondering if you use a nanny or a center?  And also, how do vacations work?  For example, if you are in a center, do you have to pay throughout the summer to keep your spot?

Thanks. :)

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Any teachers with babies in day care?

• Options

I taught sixth grade, and some of my teacher friends told me about special day care situations for teachers in which they don't pay for the summer, but I think it is pretty uncommon.  (I'm not an expert since I SAH with DD).  I wish I could be of more help, but I think if you look hard enough you should be able to find something.  I believe most of them use at home daycare as opposed to centers.  Good luck!

• Options

Hello!

I am a teacher out on maternity leave. ?I start back up in August and have been looking at in home daycares. ?I have actually come across some providers who only work with or prefer teacher's children. ?One of my first questions has always been about the summer breaks and if they will still charge. ?I was lucky to stumble across two associations of in home daycare providers in Fairfax. ?I actually called the group leader and told her my specific needs and wants. ?She then directed me to providers that fit my needs. ?There were quite a few who only take teacher kids for multiple reasons. ?Some want the summers off and some open up their spots to school age children in the summer. ?I don't think many centers will accommodate teachers. ?It seems that in home are more flexible.

?

BabyFruit Ticker

Lilypie Angel and Memorial tickers
    Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers

• Loading the player...
  • Options