Preemies

Hello everyone

Hey, I am new to the Preemie board.  I had my daughter 7 weeks early.  She wasn't due till April 10 and I had her Feb. 24.  I have a bunch of questions for you girls.  My baby is having difficulties swallowing her food.  She tries to drink her bottles so fast that it makes her gag and last night she started choking and stopped breathing because formula got stuck in her throat.  We had to call 911 and they came over after we finally got out the lodged formula.  We went to the doctor today and found out that she will need to see an occupational therapist to learn how to swallow.  Has anyone else had this issue?  I also would like to know how to go by milestones.  What I mean is how do we work the gestational age versus the actual age?  Will she just be 7 weeks behind?  She already weighs 7 pounds now, but she was born at 5 pounds 4 ounces.  (yes I know, she was very heavy for a 33 weeker)  I am sorry this is so long, but I really appreciate the responses.

Re: Hello everyone

• AidgeAidge member
    Well, first of all, congrats to you! And second- how scary! Sam had issues choking as well, but this was due to his reflux. Once he went on meds, it got much ?better. I'm glad you're seeing an OT, though, and you might want to inquire about reflux as well. ?As for adjusted age, we are told we need to adjust until Sam is 2. ?So we think of it as although he is really 9 months old, he is "adjusted" (based on his due date) to 7 months. So milestone-wise, he is doing what a 7 monther is doing, for the most part. ?It helps to think that way, so that you don't think you LO is behind. ?I wish you luck, though, and welcome to the board!?
  • Hello fellow Fl preemie mom, my mom lives in Oviedo. Congrats on your new daughter. Did she spend any time in the nicu? How scary that must have been to have to call 911. Welcome to this board, you will find it very helpful.