2nd Trimester
Options

stressy first timer

Hi all  

Stressy first timer here! :P I'm 18weeks 2days pregnant and have been stressy the whole pregnancy as it's my first time and I'm naturally an anxious type. I've been a little calmer this last week as think I've maybe felt a few nudges resembling movements, but they're very erratic in terms of when they occur. I've been trying to listen to little ones heart beat as I know this may be possible between weeks 18 and 20. This morning I was laying in bed feeling around my tummy and felt a hardish object about 4cm down from my belly button and slightly to the right (you could actually see with me laying down that the side was slightly raised). I wondered if it could be baby. I took the stethoscope and could hear a very defined whooshing sound. It made me really worried thinking something was wrong but remembered hearing something similar with the doppler that the midwife said was the placenta pumping blood so been trying to calm myself down that it's just that and a good sign (haven't heard it before though?) but haven't felt any movements yet today and still wondering what that mass type object was as it seemed very low to be little one and wasn't really moving? Could it have just been stool? And also whether the placenta pumping blood can be picked up with the stethoscope... Guess I'm just feeling a little stressy. I know many don't hear the heart beat at all with the stethoscope - I did try both sides of the stethoscope. I've only got my anomaly scan when I'm 23 weeks and 2 days so I booked in for a private scan this weekend just to check in and help calm my nerves.. 

Any thoughts on the above? 

Thanks so much!

Re: stressy first timer

• Options
    By 18 weeks the fundus is usually just below your navel. If you are on the slender side it could very well be baby that you felt ❤️