April 2020 Moms
Options

Hospital Bag

2»

Re: Hospital Bag

• Options
    @KFrob Thanks! I will ask that. I definitely want to try to start pumping around 6-7 weeks so I can get the hang of it before I go back to work at 10 weeks. 
  • Options
    @sbalding88 check out YouTube tutorials for the S2 pump  I watched some Medela videos and some Spectra S1 videos before deciding on the S1. I’ve never used a pump before and it really seems so easy. 

@KFrob great idea on asking about sizing!! That was one thing I was concerned about. Thank you!
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    @sbalding88 most lactation consultants can also help make out a plan for nursing and pumping also, both for establishing supply and/or stocking your freezer before returning to work. At the beginning, I pumped for 10 min after every time I nursed baby last time. I built up a much better supply than I did with my first kid and had over 200oz in the freezer by the time I returned to work 10 weeks postpartum. It was a ton of commitment though. We never gave her a bottle unless I was at work, but we never ran out of milk either due to all the extra pumping so it was so worth the hassle.
  • Options
    I give you mamas serious credit who have to go back to work at 10 weeks postpartum. I’m so thankful for our paid year maternity leave in Canada. (Can even take 18 months off if you want!) 
  • Options
    @kath1414 I’m so jealous of a year paid! I planned my pregnancy strategically to get longer off. As a teacher, I am allowed 8-10 weeks, but I have to use my sick days for pay. From my due date to the end of the school year is 7 weeks. I go back for our work day (I can bring baby instead of hiring a sitter), then I’m off for the summer. So I don’t really have to worry about going back to work until baby is about 4 months old. 
  • Options