November 2019 Moms
Options

Advanced Maternal Age Discussion August

We didn't use this too much last month, but I thought I would give it one more go before abandoning it. 

Rants, raves, questions welcome.  Has you doc/midwife talked about your age lately?

Getting to know you: what is the best and worst of pregnancy and parenthood after 35 for you?

Re: Advanced Maternal Age Discussion August

• Options
    My doc doesnt seem concerned at all about my age. (37). He actually said he thought if I wanted to we could "easily get in one more after this one."

I dont have anything to compare to since Ive only know pregnancy and parenting at an AMA (first born was when I was 34) but I know in life in general Im tired as hell. But as a pro, I am far more confident and self assured than any other spot in my life. Im thankful that this is the point in time for myself that I had a family. I think any younger and I would have had a lot of regrets.

I do know that I want to live a healthy and active life moving forward so I can watch my kids grow and hopefully be an active grandparent should they choose to have families of their own. If mine wait until my age to have babies I will be a grandparent in my 70s so I had better be a fit and sassy grandma!
  • Options

I’m totally going to jinx myself for saying this, but this pregnancy has been my easiest so far.  My previous two were in my late 20s, and ’m 35 for this one.  I’ve been more active, for sure.  Going to the gym 3x/week and walks daily.  I’m sure that has been the reason for the easier pregnancy.

My dr. never really mentions my age at all.  I really don’t think it’s a concern for her, which is great.  Any concerns we’ve had are more focused on the fibroid that I have this time.  We’re going to do another u/s at 28 wks when I do my glucose testing, just to check it’s size and make sure it hasn’t grown.  It was right underneath my anterior placenta, so just taking a peek at it to check it out.