June 2019 Moms

Gestational Diabetes test

Was given a 4th glucose tolerance test this pregnancy due to being .1 over with last pregnancy and got a positive result.
My question is what do others think of these tests accuracy??

Re: Gestational Diabetes test

• What were your results of the first three tests this pregnancy?
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic               
    Anniversary
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • I was diagnosed because my fasting level was AT the threshold. 
    I chose to do the one step test (take blood at fasting, drink glucose drink, take blood at 1 hour and 2 hours post). 
    So I've been poking myself for 2 months now. Started off with 4x daily for 2.5 or 3 5 weeks, then moved to 2x/day. My levels have been fine. I haven't altered my diet. And I have found there to be inconsistencies with the glucose monitoring system. There have been several times that I've tested 2x in 1 minute to see how different the readings could be, and sometimes were off by 0.5mmol/L, which can be then difference between being on target or being above. 
    After the diagnosis (that I disagree with), I read a fair bit of literature, and found that the one step test leads to a lot more positive diagnoses than the 2 step. 
    Hindsight is always 20/20, and I wish I had known that. 
    With the diagnosis of GD, I find my midwife is being more conservative. I may be induced early, I've had growth scans, etc. And of course baby measured large. I take it all with a grain of salt. Third trimester scans are notoriously WRONG and can be off by a pound in both directions. 
    Overall, I'm annoyed with the diagnosis. 

• Loading the player...