January 2017 Moms
Options

I just had my first scare.

Let me begin by introducing myself. My name is Jesenia, but you can call me Jess if you have trouble pronouncing it. I'm a high school graduate. I graduated the 27th of May this year and my prom was held a few weeks before that. I had spent prom night with my SO and long story short, I got pregnant. However, because I have extremely irregular periods, I didn't know I was pregnant for quite some time. And I associated all of the stress with getting ready to graduate with why my period was late. It wasn't until I went on vacation in July to see my grandparents in Mexico that I started suspecting. When I got back in early August, I went out on a shopping date with my best friend before she could go off to college. Now, she's one of seven siblings (the youngest being a year old) and so she knows a pregnant woman when she sees one. She suggested that I was pregnant because I had tried on a dress that was my regular size and it was actually too big. She asked why I had lost weight and I told her I had lost weight after we graduated. There's a lot of stuff that occurred in the last few weeks of school including losing about 80% of my friends and letting people go and out of my life. I basically cleansed myself of the people who were a bad influence on me. A lot of these people were people who constantly made me fall to temptations including alcohol and all kinds of reckless activity. So really, it was for the best, but of course I was still really bummed out about it. I just really didn't feel like doing much and had currently quit my job that I had had since I was 15. I quit because again, I was stressed out over finals and such and balancing studying, work, family, and my social life was just too much. I have a history of depression and drug abuse that my parents have no idea about because I never came out about it. I just stepped out and got a hold of myself and found myself some help. I was proud of my strength, bu