Babies: 6 - 9 Months

8 month sleep regression

(This is my first time posting on the forums, so I apologize if I posted this in the wrong place, don't use the correct terms or formatting, etc.)

My daughter will be 8 months old tomorrow, and for the last week she's been going through the 8-10 month sleep regression. I've read all about it, but wanted to ask if anyone has answers to a couple of specific questions. She is (or was...) sleep trained and sleeping well at night. She still goes down relatively easy at first, then wakes up MAD. Everything I've read says that during this time, you should do things like you've always done, and don't create any bad habits or revert back to how things were before she was sleep trained. But here's the thing--one of the big reasons she gets so upset is that she wakes up, starts crying, sits up, and then seems to forget how to lay back down because she's so worked up. Or she rolls over, sits up, and sticks her arms and legs out of the crib. Or tries to stand up, while holding onto the crib. So how am I supposed to let her cry it out. She can't fall asleep if she's sitting up or has her arms and legs sticking out of the crib, right? She seems to get WAY more upset than when we were originally sleep training her.

So I guess my question is this--do I just do the exact same things we were doing while sleep training? Go in every 5, 10, 15, minutes, comfort her, and then leave even if she's still crying? Do I just lay her down, and hope that eventually she'll be so tired, that she stops sitting up?

Thanks!

Re: 8 month sleep regression

• There is ANOTHER sleep regression?? 

I have no answers as we have "bad sleeping habits" at 7 months old but good luck!
  • Lol there are several more sleep regressions @ATolentino89. it's a never ending sleep battle.
  • Loading the player...
  • doodleoodledoodleoodle member
    edited July 2016