May 2016 Moms
Options

Strangest baby/child names you have heard

Re: Strangest baby/child names you have heard

• Options
    tgortney said:
    I know a little Mexican-Asian mixed boy name Lancelot. They call him Lance but still...
    uhhhh actually I think that is pretty cool. But it would probably be too much for DS2 since DS1 is named Arthur.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Pregnancy Ticker

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    My parents have a close friend named Manly Ho.
    Sounds like something from Deuce Bigalow.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Pregnancy Ticker

• Options
    I watched one of those special/unique home shows over a decade ago and the episode featured a hippie family that lived in the desert in this weird series of linked bubble rooms. They had three children, named as follows:
    - I Am
    - Rainbow
    - Star Child

The parents loved it because they could call all their children with a simple sentence.
  • Options
    Lurker from June '16- I graduated with Tommy Thomas Thompson and Rich Banker (his parents were straight up hippies)
    I'm from Wisconsin and one of our governors in the 90's was Tommy Thompson....
    Oh Tommy Tompson lol (wi here too)
  • Options
    I used to work medical insurance and there was a Dr Richard Head, that's right Doctor Dick Head
  • Options
    kbrands7 said:
    Chappy_jr said:
    I completely respect the African-American tradition of creative names that have a great sound to them.  
    I cannot, however, support unique spellings and unnecessary use of contractions in more common names just to make them "unique".  

Yes! I agree with this! The trend of unique spellings just to be different  (which I've seen across the board with word names, created names, and traditional names) can create so much confusion. Ie your kid's name being Mackenziee doesn't make it more unique than Mckenzie...it just makes it more confusing. 
    Eta-- I feel like I should clarify that this opinion isn't limited to one race!