May 2016 Moms

Fellow working pregnant mommas.

So today I have come to realize that I am no longer physically able to keep the pace at work that I had been and prior to pregnancy. A little background.. I am a nurse for a specialty outpatient clinic and work 730-430 Monday through Friday. I have 6 doctors I room patients for and I'm constantly up and down and walking, etc. I cannot do things as fast as I used to and there's only me and one other nurse. My concern lately is she is going on vacation for almost 2 wks and the demand of my job has me worried about the stress it will put on me. Even when she is at work it's still hard on me. With that being said I want to bring this up to my boss and the doctors but don't want to seem whiny and like I'm asking for petty or that I cannot do my job. I just need to find a solution to make things easier on my body. How many of you other nurses or ladies with active jobs have this issue and do you think you will be able to continue working up to your due date? Do you have a plan or have you gone through this before?

Re: Fellow working pregnant mommas.

• Funny you post this because I was just thinking about it.. Also a nurse here. I am a floor nurse that works three "12" hr shifts on a acute/rehab floor. I know I have slowed down and I just struggle to get arond like I use to. Just the other day I spilled a med cup full of opened meds all over the flooor in my pts room. I was too hard to just bend down to look under the bed so I ended up on my hands and knees looking for the lost pills:(.... I am so tired of taking care of cranky pts that do not appreciate anything..
    I can't even take hardly care of myself at this point.!!!I have a long 3 or 4 months ahead of me...
  • Loading the player...
  • I feel you. Do you plan on working til your due date? @BabyL52716
  • Going to try but I just can't imagine it...