High-Risk Pregnancy

GD Sucks!

I know other women have posted this same thing on this board, but I just have to do it. I am 33 weeks pregnant, and have GD. If I eat what I'm supposed to, my glucose numbers are normal. But I am randomly having a hard time with eating the right things. I'm a teacher, so I'm on summer break. I thought this would make it easier to be at home and pick what I want to eat, but it's actually making it more difficult! Sometimes I feel confident and positive about it, and other times I find myself crying and upset because I can't have food that I crave or just want really bad. My husband does a great job consoling me, but sometimes it just depresses me. I never thought I could feel like that over food. Who's in the same boat?
BabyFetus Ticker

Re: GD Sucks!

• I have GD too. It's about finding and keeping thing you can have that are tasty. I would love a chocolate milkshake. Instead, I've found some protein bars that are yummy that help.
  • It does suck. I can eat 2 eggs and a piece of cheese and my number is 180...I could eat the same thing the next day and it's 101. I've been put on medication 4 times a day....and while it's helped, I've noticed with every passing week the numbers are harder to control. My dr says it's probably not what I'm eating but my placenta. This is my third baby and first time having GD. All I want is a piece of cake but I know if I even SMELL it my glucose will go through the roof.
  • Loading the player...
  • I have GD too. It's about finding and keeping thing you can have that are tasty. I would love a chocolate milkshake. Instead, I've found some protein bars that are yummy that help.

This exactly, I also would suggest looking at recipes online to see if you can find something similar, but within the carb limitations.