One & Done: Only child
Options

Times are crazy!

I'm a high school teacher and a few weeks ago we were on lockdown for several hours. Some kid (turned out to be one of our students) was threatening to blow up our school on some website chat room. The site moderators contacted the FBI, who contacted our local police force and so on. Then our ex asst. superintendent moved to a better position in another town. This past weekend some teenager set her home on fire because she was fighting with their 13 yo DD. They made it out alive but were injured some and lost almost everything. The fire was started in the DD's room which means the teenager came into their house while they were sleeping.

What is wrong with kids?! Why is a simple "meet me at the flag pole" or whatever not a good enough fight anymore. It freaks me out and I'm scared to death to raise my DD in this world. I really am not a paranoid person but I feel like these stories are always happening lately and I don't know how to avoid it.

Would you move to some cool, laid back country that doesn't have these problems if you could? Or do you think it's no big deal and that these stories are just glamorized to make things seem worse than they really are?

Re: Times are crazy!

• Options
    If there was a place where non of this happened I would definitely move. But I don't think that place exists. 

The world is becoming a scary place. After the theater shooting, I didn't go to the movies for about a year. I'm sorry this is happening so close to home.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    I think what is happening is lack of accountability.  Kids think they can get away with things.  the whole helicopter parent thing.  'If I mess up my parents will save me".  My sister lives in Westminster CO, where it seems like everything bad happens.  And it is scary that at my DD's daycare we have an armed card and 2 keycard locked doors to get in.  But I hope that makes her safe.

• Options