Breastfeeding
Options

XP: Help with formula supplementing

Hi, this is my first time posting on this board, but I post on my BMB often.  I am looking for advice if anyone wants to read the novel below.

Background:  Around the 6 week mark, I noticed/realized that DD wasn't gaining weight at a very fast rate.  I met with a lactation consultant and did a weighted feeding and she did not consume very much at all at that time.  The LC recommended I nurse her for 15 minutes on each side, then pump, then supplement her with what I pumped.  I tried to do that, but it was very time-consuming and DD was not content to let me pump that often.  So I modified what the LC told me and started weighing DD before and after each nursing session.  Then I determined how much to supplement feed her (ie, if her weight increased by 1.5 oz, I would give her another 2 oz or so of previously pumped milk).  I was still pumping, but only about 3 times a day.  That seemed to be working for a couple of weeks.  I did not think there was a problem with milk supply, but rather DD is a lazy nurser. I got her checked for tongue tie and she doesn't have that issue.